‘League’ Campaign Creation – Part 2 – Player Characters

‘League of Extraordinary Cartoon Characters’ Campaign – System: Fate Accelerated by Evil Hat Productions

When a dangerous artefact is stolen by a shadowy creature, a mismatched group of heroes is summoned to re-form the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and defend mankind! (Featuring your favourite cartoon characters from the 80’s and 90’s.)

Creation of Player Characters

As I explained in ‘League’ Campaign Creation Part 1, this incarnation of the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen consists of characters from cartoons of the 80’s and 90’s. I gave my players free reign with their character choices, with the only stipulation being that characters must arguably have been active in that time period. For example: That means no George Jetson, and no Fred Flintstone.

Here are the characters that were chosen to make up our League of Extraordinary Gentlemen – 1998.

He-Man  – A visitor from the dimension known a Eternia, this warrior is claimed to be the most powerful man in the universe, but he prefers not to use violence to achieve his goals.

He-Man

He-Man

Approaches: Careful: +1 Clever: +2 Flashy: +2 Forceful: +3 Quick: +1 Sneaky: 0

Aspects:

High Concept: Defender of Castle Greyskull

Trouble: Claimed to be the most powerful man in the universe

Aspect #3: Leader of the Resistance in Eternia

Stunts:

Because I am a smooth talker, I get +2 when I cleverly create advantages by persuading people not to use violence.

Because I can turn Cringer into the mighty Battlecat, I get +2 when I quickly defend against  multiple enemies.

~

She-Ra – Sister of He-Man, and wielder of the Sword of Protection, She-Ra is the defender of the Crystal Castle of the dimension known as Etheria.

She-Ra

She-Ra

Approaches: Careful: +1 Clever: +2 Flashy: +1 Forceful: +3 Quick: +2 Sneaky: 0

Aspects:

High Concept: Princess of Power, Defender of Crystal Castle

Trouble: Generally non-violent; Combat is a last resort.

Aspect #3: Incredibly strong but prefers to outwit.

Aspect #4: Her horse, Spirit, transforms into Swift Wind, a talking Unicorn.

Stunts:

Because I have the Sword of Protection, I get +2 when I Forcefully defend when deflecting magic attacks.

Because my sword has transmutation abilities, I get +2 when I Cleverly create an advantage by morphing my sword into something useful.

Because I have healing abilities, once per session I can remove a player’s consequences.

~

Casper the friendly ghost – This ectoplasmic entity manages to make friends with everyone he meets. He has proven his usefulness in a previous incarnation of the League.

Casper the Friendly Ghost

Casper the Friendly Ghost

Approaches: Careful: +2 Clever: +1 Flashy: +1 Forceful: +0 Quick: +2 Sneaky: 3

Aspects:

High Concept: A friendly ghost

Trouble: Doesn’t like to scare or hurt people

Aspect #3: Can make himself and other objects invisible

Aspect #4: Can take possession of people

Stunts:

Because I can turn invisible, I get +2 when I Sneakily create an advantage using stealth.

Because I am friendly and cute, once per session I can make an NPC my friend.

Because I am immaterial, I get +2 when I Carefully defend against physical attacks.

~

Michelangelo – one of a group of mutant martial-artist vigilantes who dwell in the sewers beneath New York City.

Michelangelo

Michelangelo

Approaches: Careful: +0 Clever: +1 Flashy: +2 Forceful: +1 Quick: +3 Sneaky: 2

Aspects:

High Concept: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle

Trouble: Can’t resist pizza.

Aspect #3: People either love him or hate him.

Aspect #4: Good at using anything as a weapon.

Stunts:

Because I have a lifetime of ninja trailing, I get +2 when I Forcefully attack using an uncommon object as a weapon.

Once per day I can call my old friends April O’Neil on my radical shell-phone for information.

~

Tintin – a world-renowned investigative reporter, known for his stories on a wide range of unusual events. Always accompanied by his faithful dog, Snowy.

Tintin and Snowy

Tintin and Snowy

Approaches: Careful: +1 Clever: +3 Flashy: +0 Forceful: +1 Quick: +2 Sneaky: 2

Aspects:

High Concept: A determined investigative reported with a history of solving crimes

Trouble: Reckless in the pursuit of information

Aspect #3: Knows the right people

Aspect #4: Can drive any vehicle and ride any animal.

Aspect #5: International Social Crusader

Stunts:

Because I have a loyal dog, Snowy, once per game I can have Snowy retrieve any item for me.

Because I am a skilled investigator, I get +2 when I cleverly overcome an obstacle while I am searching for clues.

Because I am experienced at getting out of tricky situations, I get +2 when I quickly create an advantage by setting a trap for an opponent.

~

This makes up our League of Extraordinary Gentlemen!

But what mystery will await them, and who could pose a threat dangerous enough to need such a powerful and diverse group of heroes? Find out in ‘League’ Gameplay Session 1 – Part 1.

One response to “‘League’ Campaign Creation – Part 2 – Player Characters

  1. Pingback: ‘League’ Gameplay Session 1 – Part 1 | Dan Scale·

Leave a Reply

