‘Henchmen’ Campaign Creation – Part 1

‘Henchmen’ Campaign – System: Fate Accelerated by Evil Hat Productions

In a fantasy world with strange races, magical powers and a hierarchy of heroes and villains, we are Henchmen – soldiers for hire and underlings to an evil Lord.

Motivations and campaign genesis.

I’ve been out of the loop when it comes to RPGs. Due to various life commitments and general lack of free time, I haven’t played in a tabletop RPG for almost a year. I decided to make 2014 the year I improve my record, and after reading a blog post called The Three Game Plot I knew I had found a good way to start to do that. In essence, the article says that running short, focussed campaigns with a limited number of sessions is the best way to get a group together and get a story finished. Inspired by that, I gathered some friends, explained the concept and we now have a gaming group.

Since some of our players are pretty new to RPGs in general, I wanted to keep things simple and chose to run the game in Fate Accelerated. The FATE system, created by Evil Hat Productions, is one of the most hyped systems in the RPG world right now, and I’ve heard great things about it. Fate Accelerated is a slightly simplified version of Fate Core, and I wanted to take advantage of the simplified rules while enjoying the collaborative storytelling goodness of FATE.

With the troops assembled, we briefly discussed what I wanted to achieve with this campaign – to work collaboratively, tell great stories, and generally have fun. I explained that I was a player in this game as much as they are, and that we were all on the same team. With the basics out of the way we set to creating the campaign setting that we would be playing it, which you can read all about in my next post – Campaign Creation – Part 2.

Leave a Reply

